Russell Distinguished Teaching Award

You are here


The Russell Distinguished Teaching Award is intended for professorial faculty, lecturers, senior lecturers and teaching assistants who have demonstrated their devotion to teaching, where teaching is understood to include classroom presence, preparation and administration, student counseling (including general advising of students formally assigned, but not necessarily enrolled in the recipients’ course), development of new courses and new methods of student instruction. Teaching of graduate students shall be recognized, but preference shall be given to teaching of undergraduates. Previous winners of Russell or Clark awards are not eligible.

The Russell Awards are given as follows:

  • Faculty/lecturer/senior lecturer: three $3,000 awards
  • Teaching assistant: four $1,500 awards
  • To each recipient’s department, $500 to be used to further undergraduate teaching and learning

Nomination Process


To make a nomination, send a letter to the department chair by February 1.

Chairs and directors of graduate studies:

All nomination packages must be submitted to the dean by either a department chair or a director of graduate studies. The deadline for nominations is February 22nd.

Each nomination must include:

  • The nominee’s CV
  • Information about the nominee’s teaching performance. Please summarize student evaluation data; do not include individual student evaluation forms
  • Letters, in one single pdf, from undergraduates (both majors & non-majors) including details on how the letters were obtained.  Maximum of 5 letters accepted.
  • Letter of nomination from the department chair including the opinions of the nominator(s). The letter should summarize, not replicate, other material in the dossier

Click here to nominate a candidate. All materials in the nomination package should be submitted as a single pdf. 

The awards for graduate student teaching (the Russell, Gitner, and Dean’s awards) are drawn from the same set of nominations, so you will only need to send a single nomination for your nominee to be considered for all three awards

Questions should be directed to the Arts & Sciences Awards Committee.



  • Aurora Masum-Javed, English
  • Suman Seth, science and technology studies
  • Debak Das, government
  • Ethan Jost, psychology
  • Claire Leavitt, government


  • Alexander Ophir, psychology
  • Tom Ruttledge, chemistry and chemical biology
  • Nicholas Mason, ecology and evolutionary biology 


  • Eric Tagliacozzo, history
  • Floyd Davis, chemistry
  • Wee Hao Ng, physics


  • Masha Raskolnikov, English
  • Shalom Schoer, Near Eastern studies
  • Christopher Dalton, ecology and evolutionary biology


  • Ismail Baggari, physics
  • Barbara Correll, English
  • Antonia Ruppel, classics


  • Gustavo Flores Macias, government
  • Michael Stillman, math
  • Matthew Kibbee, English


  • Charles Aquadro, molecular biology and genetics
  • Kayla Crosbie, physics
  • Jon Parmenter, history


  • Maria Cristina Garcia, history
  • Philip Krasicky, physics
  • Bryan Alkemeyer, English


  • Carol Gilson Rosen, linguistics
  • Kim Haines-Eitzen, Near Eastern studies
  • Alex Alemi, physics


  • Anne Beggs, theatre, film & dance
  • Jonathan Kirshner, government
  • Mariana Wolfner, molecular biology & genetics


  • Turan Birol, physics
  • Allen Hatcher, mathematics
  • Burke Hendrix, government
  • Ana Rojas, comparative literature
  • Scott Tucker, music


  • Derek Chang, history
  • Thomas Hill, English
  • Cristina Dahl, comparative literature


  • Christopher Way, government
  • Geoffrey Coates, chemistry and chemical biology
  • Christopher Jones, physics


  • Paul Chirik, chemistry and chemical biology
  • Maria Terrell, mathematics
  • Andres Lema-Hincapie, Romance studies


  • Kathryn March, anthropology
  • Mary McCullough, English
  • Nicholas Davis, English


  • Dennis Regan, psychology
  • Melissa Hines, chemistry
  • John Sebastian, English & medieval studies


  • Ravi Ramakrishna, mathematics
  • Molly Diesing, linguistics
  • Neil Jenkins, chemistry


  • Dexter Kozen, computer science
  • Peter Gilgen, German studies
  • Mary Miles


  • Nicholas Jones, physics
  • Fredric Bogel, English
  • Gerald Feigenson, molecular biology & genetics


  • Douglas Weibel, chemistry
  • Steven Squyres, astronomy
  • Thomas Gilovich, psychology


  • Howard Schweber
  • Keshav Pingali, computer science
  • Daniel Schwarz, English
  • Daniel Usner, history


  • Ewa Badowska, English
  • Calum Carmichael, comparative literature
  • David Mermin, physics


  • Ross Brann, Near Eastern studies
  • Brian Smith, computer science
  • John L. Bower


  • Marilyn Migiel, Romance studies
  • James Coykendall, mathematics


  • Molly Hite, English
  • Peter Katzenstein, government
  • Brooks Appelbaum, English


  • Daniel Huttenlocher, computer science
  • Cynthia Nieb


  • Barry Carpenter, chemistry
  • Meredith Small, anthropology