Dean's Prize

You are here


Teaching assistants who have demonstrated their devotion to undergraduate teaching— including classroom presence, course preparation and administration, student counseling, and, where applicable, development of new courses and new methods of student instruction — may be recognized with the Dean's Prize for Distinguished Teaching. Four $500 awards are given each year.

Nomination Process


To nominate a teaching assistant, send a letter to the department chair by February 1.

Chairs and directors of graduate studies:

All nomination packages must be submitted to the dean by either a department chair or a director of graduate studies. The deadline for nominations is February 22nd.

Each nomination must include:

  • The nominee’s CV
  • Information about the nominee’s teaching performance. Please summarize student evaluation data; do not include individual student evaluation forms
  • Letters, in one single pdf, from undergraduates (both majors & non-majors) including details on how the letters were obtained.  Maximum of five letters accepted.
  • Letter of nomination from the department chair including the opinions of the nominator(s). The letter should summarize, not replicate, other material in the dossier

Click here to nominate a candidate. All materials in the nomination package should be submitted as a single pdf.

The awards for graduate student teaching (the Russell, Gitner, and Dean’s awards) are drawn from the same set of nominations, so you will only need to send a single nomination for your nominee to be considered for all three awards.

Questions should be directed to the Arts & Sciences Awards Committee.




  • Kacie Armstrong, psychology
  • Magdala Jeudy, Romance studies
  • Elizabeth Wijaya, comparative literature


  • ​Amber Harding, English
  • Adam Miller, psychology
  • Emily RIals, English
  • Kristina Smiley, psychology


  • ​Tim Sorg, history
  • Lauren (Alex) Harmon, English
  • Kaylin (Myers) O’Dell, English
  • Christine (Xine) Yao, English


  • Elizabeth Blake, English
  • Soumyajit Bose, physics
  • Corinna Matlis, medieval studies
  • Tatiana Sverjensky, comparative literature


  • Daniel Baldassare, neurobiology & behavior
  • Pauline Goul, Romance studies
  • Rebecca Kosick, comparative literature
  • Mallory SoRelle, government


  • Matthew Bucemi, English
  • Erin Hern, government
  • Morgan Mouchka
  • Pablo García-Piñar


  • Danielle Cudmore, medieval studies
  • Paul Flaig, comparative literature
  • Steven Pinkerton, English
  • Danielle Thomsen, government


  • Alexis Briley, comparative literature
  • Sarah Ensor, English
  • Kristin McKie, government
  • Catherine Biba, history


  • Melissa Gniadek, English
  • Thomas McSweeney, history
  • Deondra Rose, government
  • Ben Weber, medieval studies


  • Peter Bailey, English
  • Leila Ibrahim, government
  • Jessica Metzler, English
  • John Rowehl, music


  • Chad Bennett, English
  • Lucia Seybert, government
  • Krupa Shandilya, English


  • Brian Barringer, ecology & evolutionary biology
  • Caetlin Benson-Allott, English
  • Stephen Nelson, government
  • Anna Paparcone, Romance studies


  • Curtis Jirsa, medieval studies
  • Nicole Marafioti, medieval studies
  • Angela Naimou, English
  • Seo-Hyun Park, government